Garthorpe Set For Season Opener

Sunday sees the return of the Garthorpe point-to-point season where the Cottersmore meeting kicks of the campaign in Ireland.

A seven race card gets underway with a Cottesmore Members contest at 11.15am. This includes Say No who comes into this on the back of success at Brocklesby on his seasonal reappearance. He is likely to start as favourite in the racing live betting markets to build on that novice rider’s race when he lines up at Garthorpe this weekend.

There are 22 runners in the PPROA Club Members race on the card where the first three jockeys home will gain points towards their total in the Harley Racing National Novice Riders Championship. Bench Warren will be ridden by Tom Chatfield-Roberts, while Joe Drinkwater is set to team up with Working Title once again after the pair prevailed at Wadebridge recently.

The next qualifier for the Bonham’s Men’s Open Point-to-Point Championship Final Hunters Chase at Cheltenham will be on the card at Garthorpe. It will feature Shillingstone who was back in action earlier this month at Brocklesby where he returned with a win. The race also includes recent winner Fruit Fayre who scored comfortably at Thorpe.

Palypso De Creek is likely to start as favourite in the racing betting for the Ladies’ Open where she is set to clash with Hey Porter and Grandturgeon.

In the Midlands Area Club Conditions contest, connections of Victory Parade will be hoping their mount can go one better than its second place finish on this card 12 months ago.

Intentandpurposes broke its maiden recently at Brocklesby and will be vying to build on that in the penultimate race on the afternoon on Sunday, while the finale is The Open Maiden where the consistent Bamboleo will be one of the market leaders to prevail for the first time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>